Manchester City Council Report for Resolution

Report To:	Constitutional and Nomination Committee – 7 December 2011
Subject:	Membership of Committees
Report Of:	The City Solicitor

Purpose of Report

To report on the political balance of the Council and to present proposals for the allocation of seats to committees in accordance with the provisions of Sections 15-17 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, and to deal with the appointment of Chairs and Deputy Chairs of Committees in line with the Council's Constitution.

Recommendations

The Committee is recommended to make recommendations to Council in relation to the appointment of members to serve on committees

Financial Consequences for the Revenue Budget None

Financial Consequences for the Capital Budget None

Contact Officer:

Chris Shepherd, Chief Executive's Department, 0161 234 3043 Email: c.shepherd@manchester.gov.uk

Background Documents None

Wards affected: None

1. Background

- 1.1 Sections 15-17 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, and Regulation 16 of the Committees and Political Groups Regulations 2000, deal with the political balance of members of the Council on committees, and certain other bodies to which the Council makes appointments.
- 1.2 The Council is required to determine the allocation of seats on the various committees between the different political groups and must meet, so far as is reasonably practicable, the principles of political balance set out below.
- 1.3 The principles of political balance, as they affect the City Council, are:
 - (a) that (if there is more than one political group) not all the seats on the relevant committee are allocated to the same political group;
 - (b) that the majority of seats on the relevant committee are allocated to the majority group on the Council;
 - (c) that, subject to (a) and (b), the aggregate total number of seats on the Council's committees are allocated between political groups in proportion to each group's respective representation on the Council;
 - (d) that, subject to (a), (b) and (c), the seats on each individual committee/ sub-committee are allocated between the political groups in proportion to each group's respective membership of the Council, and
 - (e) where councillors are not members of a group, they are to be appointed to any seats which are left unallocated, after giving effect to the political balance principles.

2. **Political Balance**

2.1 The overall political balance of the Council has changed to:

Labour	75
Liberal Democrat	21

2.2 The following table provides details of the balanced allocation of seats for each group to committees ranging from memberships of 5 to 25.

Seats	Labour 75		Liberal Democrat 21	
	Calc	Seats	Calc	Seats
5	3.91	4	1.09	1
6	4.69	5	1.31	1
7	5.47	5	1.53	2
8	6.25	6	1.75	2
9	7.03	7	1.97	2
10	7.81	8	2.19	2
11	8.59	9	2.41	2
12	9.38	9	2.63	3
13	10.16	10	2.84	3
14	10.94	11	3.06	3
15	11.72	12	3.28	3

Seats	Labour 75		Liberal Democrat 21	
16	12.50	12	3.50	4
17	13.28	13	3.72	4
18	14.06	14	3.94	4
19	14.84	15	4.16	4
20	15.63	16	4.38	4
21	16.41	16	4.59	5
22	17.19	17	4.81	5
23	17.97	18	5.03	5
24	18.75	19	5.25	5
25	19.53	20	5.47	5

- 2.3 The change in the size of the groups changes the political balance of the Communities and Neighbourhoods Overview and Scrutiny Committee from 13+3 to 12+4. The overall balance of all places on all committees remains in proportion to the size of the two groups. There are 210 places in all, 164 are allocated to the Labour group and 46 to the Liberal Democrat group.
- 2.4 The Committee is requested to make recommendations to the Council regarding the membership of committees including:

Children and Young People (15 councillors = 12+3)

Current Membership **Labour** (12): Akbar, Carmody (Chair), Cooley, Cooper, Cox, Craig, Judge, Keller, Murphy, S Newman, Reid, Tavernor **Liberal Democrat** (3): Boyes, Fisher, Ryan

Citizenship and Inclusion (14 members = 11+3)

Current Membership Labour (11): Ahmed, Carmody, Chohan, Cookson, Cowell, Fletcher-Hackwood, Paul, Peel, Rawlins, Razaq, Richards Liberal Democrat (3): Chamberlain, Jones (Chair), Taylor

Communities and Neighbourhoods (16 members = 12+4)

Current Membership **Labour** (12): Austin, Barnes, Curley (Chair), Hughes, Hyde, Kirkpatrick, Loughman, Brian O'Neil, Paul, Peel, Priest, Rahman **Liberal Democrat** (3): Hennigan, Lewis, Ryan, Vacancy

Economy, Employment and Skills (15 members = 12+3)

Current Membership **Labour** (12): Barrett, Chappell, Green (Chair), Hackett, Karney, Keegan, Pritchard, Richards, Simcock, Smitheman, Strong, Walters **Liberal Democrat** (3): Chamberlain, Clayton, Eakins

Health and Wellbeing (14 members = 11+3)

Current Membership **Labour** (11): Ellison, Fairweather, Hitchen, M Murphy, E Newman (Chair), O'Callaghan, Barbara O'Neil, Pagel, Siddiqi, Swannick, Watson **Liberal Democrat** (3): B Fisher, D O'Connor, D Sandiford

Resources and Governance (14 members = 11+3) **Current Membership** Labour (8): Ali, Flanagan (Chair), Hackett, P Murphy, Rawlins, Siddiqi, Trotman, Watson, 3 vacancies Liberal Democrat (3): Clayton, Glover, Sandiford **Art Galleries Committee** (14 Councillors = 11+3) **Current Membership** Labour (9): Amesbury, Andrews, J Battle, Evans, Khan, Leese, N Murphy, S Murphy, Smith, 2 Vacancies Liberal Democrat (3): Pearcey, Shannon, Wheale Audit Committee (8 Councillors = 6+2) **Current Membership** Labour (5): Akbar, Barrett, Flanagan (Chair), Hackett, Watson, Vacancy Liberal Democrat (2): Clayton, Wheale **Planning and Highways Committee** (15 members = 12+3) **Current Membership** Labour (10): Ahmed, Burns (Chair), Curley, Ellison, Fender, Flanagan, Keller, Loughman, Siddigi, Watson, 2 Vacancies Liberal Democrat (3): Boyes, Sandiford, Shaw **Licensing and Appeals Committee** (15 members = 12+3) **Current Membership** Labour (12): Ahmed, Austin, Burns, Carmody, Chohan, Hassan, Hitchen (Chair), Longsden, Loughman, O'Callaghan, Royle, S Newman Liberal Democrat (3): Lewis, O'Connor, Shaw **Licensing Committee** (15 Members = 12+3) **Current Membership** Labour (12): Ahmed, Austin, Burns, Carmody, Chohan, Hassan, Hitchen (Chair), Longsden, Loughman, O'Callaghan, Royle, S Newman Liberal Democrat (3): Lewis, O'Connor, Shaw **Licensing Policy Committee** (6 Members = 5+1) **Current Membership** Labour (5): Carmody, Chohan, Hitchen (Chair), N Murphy, Royle Liberal Democrat (1): Shaw **Constitutional and Nomination Committee** (13 members = 10+3) **Current Membership** Labour (9): J. Battle, Burns, Curley (Chair), Karney, Leese, Hassan, S. Murphy, Tavenor, Watson, Vacancy Liberal Democrat (3): Hennigan, Ramsbottom, Wheale **Standards Committee** (7 councillors = 5+2, the actual is 4+3) **Current Membership** Labour (4): Burns, Evans, O'Callaghan, Trotman

Liberal Democrat (3): Sandiford, Shaw, and Whitmore Having three members of the Liberal Democrat group on the Committee allows the Committee's three subcommittees to operate without conflicts arising.

Wythenshawe Area Committee (15 members = 13+2)

Membership is the ward councillors for the five Wythenshawe wards.

Personnel Committee (11 members = 8+3)

Current Membership

Labour (8): Amesbury, Andrews, Evans, Khan, Leese, Lone, N Murphy, Smith (Chair)

Liberal Democrat (3): Pearcey, Ramsbottom, Wheale

Membership formula comprises the Leader of the Council, (or a Deputy) the 6 Executive Members, the Assistant Executive Member (Finance and Human Resources), and 3 members of the Liberal Democrat Group.

Employee Appeals Committee (3 members = 2+1)

Executive Member for Finance and Human Resources (or Assistant Member) Executive Member of the appellant's Employing Department (or Assistant Member) and one Liberal Democrat members drawn from the following Councillors Ramsbottom, Di Mauro, Vacancy